Radiant Kundalini Yoga on Thursday's at 5:30 PM at Irvine Studio

The Kundalini Yoga class uses a combination of physical exercises, pranayam breathing techniques, mudra hand postures, meditations and mantras called “Kriyas”. That automatically guides the energies of the body and the mind to a specific result or change of consciousness. The class is taught by Sotantar Suraj is a world renowned Kundalini Yoga Teacher, Gong Avatar Teacher and Teacher Trainer.

The class is held at our Irvine Studio every Thursday at 5:30 PM.

Each week, Sotantar Suraj will be focusing on 1 chakra.

Your Radiant Hot Yoga Family.

What are the Chakra’s or Energy Centers

The word “chakra” comes from the Sanskrit language of India and translated, means “wheel.” Indians believe the body contains seven main chakras, arranged vertically from the base of the spine to the top of the head. These chakras are thought of as spinning vortexes of energy, thus wheels of light.

Each chakra is associated with particular functions within the body and with specific life issues and the way we handle them, both inside ourselves and in our interactions with the world. Chakras can be thought of as sites where we receive, absorb, and distribute life energies. Through external situations and internal habits, a chakra can become either deficient, excessive or imbalanced.

The lower chakras focus on details such as our home, family and emotions, while the upper chakras focus on the spiritual aspect of our lives. All of the chakras affect one another and work together.

The first or “Root” Chakra

The Sanskrit name for it is “muladhara” which means root/base. It is located at the base of the spine. There is an energy stored under this chakra which is often referred to as the “coiled serpent.” Kundalini yoga focuses on stimulating this energy. The 1st chakra is the one that helps to keep you grounded and centered. It is associated with survival, instincts and basic communication. The concerns associated with this chakra involve food, clothing, shelter – practical things. The emotion associated with this chakra is fear. The less we are connected to the earth, the more fear we have. To ground yourself, go for a walk, be out in nature.

The second or “Sacral” Chakra

Is “Swadhisthana.” This word means “dwelling place of the Self.” The 2nd chakra is located in the lower abdomen, about an inch below the navel. The 2nd chakra is associated with creativity and procreation. It also governs emotional and sensual aspects of our lives. The emotion associated with the 2nd chakra is passion. If you grew up in an environment where emotions were repressed or denied, this chakra may be deficient. Some signs of deficiency are fear of pleasure, being out of touch with one’s feelings and resistance to change. Signs of an excessive 2nd chakra may be overly emotional behavior, sexual addiction or poor boundaries. Excessiveness can be caused by living in an environment where there is a constant need for pleasurable stimulation, such as entertaining or partying. Frequent emotional drama can cause excessiveness also.

The third or “Solar Plexus” Chakra

This word is “Manipura” and means “lustrous gem.” The 3rd chakra is located in the area of the solar plexus, navel and digestive system. It is associated with power, self-esteem and vitality. It is the seat of the intellect.

The fourth or “Heart” Chakra

The Sanskrit name for the 4th chakra is “Anahata.” This word means “unstruck” or “stillness.” This seems to imply that deep beneath our brokenness and pain, wholeness abides. The 4th chakra is located in our heart center in the middle of the chest. It governs our intuition and love. It is also known as the heart chakra.

The fifth or “Throat” Chakra

The Sanskrit word for the 5th chakra is “Vishuddha” which means “purity.” This is the first of the chakras that focuses primarily on the spiritual plane and is located in the throat. The 5th chakra is spiritual, but it is also the bridge between the lower chakras that focus on earth and the upper chakras that deal with spirituality.

The sixth or “Third Eye” Chakra

”Ajna” is the Sanskrit word for the 6th chakra. It means “beyond wisdom.” It has also been translated to mean “the perception center.” The 6th chakra is located between, and just above the eyes. It is often referred to as the “third eye” and has been associated with the pineal gland. This chakra deals with visualization, intuition, imagination and telepathy.

The seventh or “Crown” Chakra

The Sanskrit name for the 7th chakra is “Sahasrara”, meaning “thousandfold.” The 7th chakra is represented by a 1000-petaled lotus, which symbolizes the infinite nature of this chakra, connecting us with the Divine. The 7th chakra is located at the crown of the head and serves as the crown of the entire chakra system, symbolizing the highest state of enlightenment. The function of the 7th chakra is connection with the infinite. In art, Christ is depicted with a halo around his head. This could represent the awakened spirituality of the 7th chakra. The element of the 7th chakra is thought/cosmic consciousness. The mind creates our belief systems that control our thoughts and actions.

Sign up now for the next Kundalini Yoga Class
Thursday’s at 5:30 pm